CEND-affiliated professor, Sarah Stanley, named 2014 Searle Scholar

by / Monday, 07 April 2014 / Published in news, stories

Searle Scholars Program 2014  Press Release:
Fifteen Searle Scholars Named for 2014

April 4, 2014: Chicago, Illinois – Fifteen researchers in the chemical and biological sciences have been named as the 2014 Searle Scholars. Each will be awarded $300,000 to support his or her work during the next three years.

Since the program’s inception in 1980, 527 Searle Scholars have shared more than $111,120,000 in grants. This year, 172 applications were considered from recently appointed assistant professors, nominated by 120 universities and research institutions.

The final selection of scholars was based on recommendations made by the program’s Scientific Advisory Board consisting of 12 scientists distinguished for their research and leadership across a wide range of fields. In selecting the Scholars, the Scientific Advisory Board looked for scientists who have already demonstrated innovative research with the potential for making significant contributions to chemical and biological research over an extended period of time.

“Our scientific advisory board did a fantastic job identifying a set of bold young scientists who are bringing new technologies and new perspectives to address some of the biggest questions in the biomedical sciences,” said Scientific Director Doug Fambrough. “Several of our new Scholars are focused on understanding the neuronal circuitry supporting complex computations such as those involved in forming memories and navigating through the world.  Others are elucidating the molecular dynamics involved in gene regulation, cell motility, and control of immunity. Still others are looking at fitness and evolution from new perspectives. These are difficult, stressful times for young scientists, with research funding severely limited, so it is with extra special joy that we are able to give a substantial boost to the careers of 15 of the very best.”

The funds that support the awards come from trusts established under the wills of John G. and Frances C. Searle. Mr. Searle was President of G.D. Searle & Co., of Skokie, Illinois, a research-based pharmaceutical company. Mr. and Mrs. Searle expressed the wish that some of the proceeds of their estates be used for the support of research in medicine, chemistry, and the biological sciences.

In 1980, members of the Searle family acting as Consultants to the Trustees of the Trusts established under the wills of Mr. & Mrs. John G. Searle recommended the development of a program to support young biomedical scientists. This idea evolved into the Searle Scholars Program which is funded through grants from the family trusts to the Chicago Community Trust and administered by Kinship Foundation in Chicago, Illinois.

Click here for the list of 2014 Scholars, including their research project title and the name of the institution that will administer the award.

For more information about the Searle Scholars Program please visit Editors may contact either Douglas M. Fambrough, Searle Scholars Program Scientific Director, at or Jennifer Stadler, Kinship Foundation Administrative and Grants Coordinator, at

TOP UA-36873340-1